top of page

A Simple Guide to Motorcycle Insurance Laws in California

Minimum Insurance Requirements for CA Motorcycles

One of the most common financial responsibility options is to take out an insurance policy. The minimum requirements in California for two-wheeled vehicles are:

  1. $15,000 in injury or death to one person

  2. $30,000 in injury or death to more than one person

  3. $5,000 in property damage Remember, these are the minimum requirements for motorcyclists in California and this doesn’t cover damages for your own injuries. Your needs might be different, so make sure you talk to an expert insurance agent before you take out a policy.

Financial Responsibility Alternatives to Insurance If for some reason, you don’t want to take out an insurance policy for your bike, then California does give you some other options for meeting their financial responsibility requirements:

  1. Make a $35,000 cash deposit to the DMV. You can contact the DMV Financial Responsibility Unit at (916) 657-6520 for more information about this method of financial responsibility.

  2. Self-insure your motorcycle. The DMV will require you to get a self-insurance certificate if you decide to go this route.

  3. Get a surety bond for $35,000 from a company that is licensed to do business in California. If you want to find a company that issues surety bonds, you can always visit the Department of Insurance online.

Have More Questions? Get In Touch with Our Glendale Insurance Agents! If you have more questions about meeting financial responsibility in California for your motorcycle, then please contact the insurance agents at Cornerstone Preferred Insurance in Glendale. Our experts can talk with you about your situation and your needs to find the perfect solution!

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page